Village sign The Chalfont St Giles
village website

Chalfont St Giles Parish Council

The first Chalfont St Giles Parish Council was formed in 1894. Eighteen candidates came forward, of whom nine were elected, and the first meeting was held on 2 January the following year. The total precept for the year 1895-96 was 50, this year it is approaching 182,385.

Today, the role of the local councillor on a parish council, is more important than ever. The Parish Council, which is apolitical, is the closest tier of local government to the people with all 12 Parish Councillors resident in the Parish carrying out their duties on a voluntary basis, without allowances or expenses unlike District and County Councillors. The Parish Council is in control of many of the basic services that are often taken for granted. Some of its main powers include providing and maintaining the playing fields, children's play equipment areas, open spaces including Stone End, the Village Green and the Village Pond, the cemetery, footway lighting - 220 street lights, seats and shelters for public use, and allotments. The Parish Council, which also covers Jordans, operates through Committees for Finance & General Purposes, Open Spaces and Amenities, and Planning. The Planning Committee considers each planning application submitted in the parish and makes comments to Chiltern District Council. Provision is made before every Committee and Council meetings for parishioners to raise issues of local concern.

Read the 2005 Parish Plan.

Parish Councillors

Mr R. E. Allen
Willow Bank, Jordans Lane, Jordans, Beaconsfield HP9 2SW
Chairman, Planning Committee
Chairman, Finance & General Purposes Committee

Mr D. J. Bray, 7 Narcot Road, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4DD

Mr B. Curson
9 Palliser Road, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4DN

Mrs P. French
44 The Lagger, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4DJ

Mr P. Lea-Wilson
Woodlands, Gorelands Lane, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4HQ

Mrs S. Long
42 Albion Crescent, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4ET

Mr G. A. Patrick
Primrose Cottage, High Street, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4QA
Vice-Chairman of Council
Chairman, Open Spaces & Amenities Committee

Mrs M. J. Phillips
12 Albion Road, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4EW

Mr J. Ryman
Woodbury, Doggetts Wood Close, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4TL

Mrs B. J. Smith
25 Ellwood Rise, Chalfont St. Giles HP8 4SU

Mr T. Starkey
49b Miltons Fields, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4ER

Mr W. R. Warren
Scrumbles, Dibden Hill, Chalfont St Giles HP8 4RD
Chairman of Council

All correspondence should be sent to:
The Clerk to the Parish Council
Michael MacMahon, Willow House, 12 Royle Close, Chalfont St Peter, Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire SL9 0BB
Tel : 01753 890517

Dates of Council and Committee Meetings 2014 are here.